How to Unfollow on TikTok in 2022

How to Unfollow on TikTok

As you traverse through the TikTok app, you will see a lot of interesting content and it could be tempting to like every video you see and follow every creator you find.

However, following too many influencers could leave your home feed cluttered and disorganized.

Hence, you might be thinking of unfollowing some of them. Fortunately, TikTok gives you full control over who you can follow or unfollow.

In this guide, you will learn how to unfollow on TikTok. We will also go ahead and show ways to block someone on the app.

These methods are helpful especially when you encounter harassment on the app which restrains your ability to enjoy TikTok and its many benefits.

How to Unfollow on TikTok Through their Profile Page

TikTok offers different routes on how you can unfollow a user. You can do this by visiting their profile page.

Meamwhile, if you are meaning to do an ‘unfollow purge’ and unfollow different accounts at once, you could perform this task with the use of your ‘Following’ list.

Aside from these two courses of action, you may also automatically unfollow a TikTok user by blocking them. 

Let’s get right into it! The following steps will help you remove unnecessary users from your court. Follow this guide on how to unfollow on TikTok.

Unfollowing a TikTok User Using their Profile Page

Step 1: Open TikTok

Step 2: Once landing on your homepage, click the search icon which can also be in the form of a magnifying glass symbol at the rear part of your page.

Clicking this will redirect you to a search bar

Step 3: Using the search bar, type the person’s username

Step 4: TikTok will show you a list of users with that username or close to the keyword.

Click on the person you would want to unfollow

Step 5: Once on their profile page, tap the ‘Following’ bar.

Doing this will automatically unfollow them and they will no longer be included on the list of people you follow. 

Sometimes, you have to wait for a minute or so until the sign changes. Do not panic!

TikTok will not send a notification to the person you have just unfollowed to inform them of your action, there is no point in worrying about performing this task. 

By unfollowing a person on TikTok, you will not see their videos on your ‘For You’ page again.

On the other hand, you can always search them and watch their videos if their profile is available to the public.

Unfollowing on TikTok Using Your ‘Following’ List

Unfollowing using the following list is easier to do. All you have to do is scroll and click ‘unfollow,’ and you are good to go.

For a more detailed explanation, follow out step-by-step guides on how to unfollow on TikTok using the power of your following list:

Step 1: Open TikTok and click the ‘Me’ icon located on the rear side of the page

Step 2: Once on your profile page, go to your ‘following’ list. Scroll and take your time to decide which TikTok accounts you would like to unfollow.

These may be people posting spam content or strangers you know nothing about, you decide.

Step 3: Simply click the “Following” button to unfollow. Take note that TikTok is a bit slow to respond sometimes, so it might take a few seconds for your internet connection to catch every action. 

How to Block Someone on TikTok

Another way to unfollow a user on the TikTok platform is with the use of the ‘block’ button.

This is called the ‘soft blocking’ method in today’s terms. Follow these steps to ‘soft block’ someone on TikTok:

Step 1: Open TikTok

Step 2: Use the search bar to find the person that you plan to block and unfollow.

Conversely, you may also opt to tap on their username on a video they posted on your ‘For You’ page or on a message they sent previously. 

Step 3: Tap the three dots adjacent to their profile photo once you have landed on their profile page

Step 4: Select the “Block” and confirm the action. Click ‘unblock’ again and the user will be removed from your blocked list but will be removed from your ‘following’ and ‘followers’ list.

What Happens When You Unfollow Someone on TikTok?

image 20

Credits: unsplash.com

Simple answer: you will lose connection with them. After unfollowing TikTok user, their profile updates and activities, especially the content they post appear on your feed a.k.a your ‘For You’ page.

It is a great way to stop seeing content that annoys you or does not serve your purpose or gives you entertainment.

How to Follow Someone on TikTok

By doing an unfollow spree, there is a big chance you will accidentally unfollow if you do not intend to.

You don’t have to worry about it because you just follow them again by tapping ‘follow’ on their page.

If you would like to follow new accounts, one way to do it is by using the application’s browse feature. Follow these steps to follow an account on TikTok:

Step 1: Open TikTok

Step 2: Swipe up the main screen to look for the user you are intending to follow.

You can browse recent and trending videos by swiping up and down on your ‘For You’ page

Step 3: Next to the user’s profile is the ‘Follow’ button or the red ‘+’ icon. Simply click any of these to follow them.

Conclusion

We hope you enjoyed our article on how to unfollow on TikTok. It is very easy to do and takes less than a minute of your time.

Unfollowing someone on the platform means you will not see their content on your ‘For You’ page any longer. This is encouraged especially for accounts creating poor content.

On the downside, unfollowing on TikTok also creates a barrier between that user and you.

You may want to keep people on your team if you target to grow your follower count.

Nevertheless, you can always buy TikTok followers to compensate.

Charlie has been building WordPress themes, reviewing web hosts and utilizing social media since their respective inceptions.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.